Introduction

Each “interview” I’ve done has been a wildly different experience. This one was impacted by logistics and direction changes.  By that, I mean both Mike and I were in the midst of major scheduling demands, however, Mike is also navigating a job change, which is always a tough thing to try to insert extracurricular activities (like half-brained bloggers nagging people with questions).

Mike is one of my short-list, go-to people for information about things related to deploying and managing Windows devices via System Center technologies.  I’m not implying that’s all he’s good for, but that’s how I discovered his blog and Twitter feed. Mike is also one of several people I tried (and failed) to meet in person during Microsoft Ignite 2016 in Atlanta, due to crazy schedules, navigational challenges, and caffeine shortage.  I’m planning to be at Ignite 2017, so I’m going to be more diligent in meeting people (those that want to meet me in person, that is).

Name: Mike Terrill

Job Title: OS Engineer

1. Describe what you do for a living – to someone who has no idea what it means.

Architect systems to deploy and manage Windows devices electronically without touching them.

2. How did you get into this type of work?

I have always been interested in computers since the day when I got my first computer – C64. I was big into cars during high school and college, and I wanted to work on automotive computer systems when I graduated. I ended up getting into systems management instead.

3. What area or aspect of technology are you most excited about?

Self-driving cars and connected cars – people are idiot drivers and half of them should not be behind the wheel. It is exciting to see the progress in this area. The Systems and Industrial Engineering Department at the University of Arizona is one of the leaders in this space and have been ever since I was there in the 90s.

4. What gives you the most satisfaction today?

Family vacations, cart racing and Megadeth concerts.

5. Name the 3 most inspiring people in your life or career?

My parents and my wife. My parents taught me how to work hard to meet my goals. My wife has helped me make my career decisions, including my recent one (but she still thinks it is called SMS since I gave up talking to her about it a long time ago).

6. If I hadn’t gone into this field, I’d probably be…

an automotive engineer with an emphasis on engine (computer) management systems. I had a Mustang GT 5.0 growing up that I not only turbocharged, but I replaced the Ford computer system with a fully programmable after market computer system that provided engine management.

7. Favorite place to travel?

Hawaii (second to that would be Mars with skatterbrainz of course).

[edit: oh, this poor guy]

8. What 3 books, movies or other works have influenced you most in life?

Millionaire Next Door, Smart Couples Finish Rich, and of course one of Kent Agerlund’s books. The first two teach basic common financial sense and these concepts should be taught in high school. Kent’s books teach Configuration Manager common sense.

9. There’s never enough …

time in the day (or money).

10. There’s way too much …

hatred (and big government).

11. What’s your favorite sound?

Dave Mustaine’s guitar.

12. What would you say to those who insist that technology has only made life worse?

I would say “What about all of the technology that is now making things possible for disabled people that previously were only a dream?” Technology has made life better, not worse. Sometimes people use technology for bad things (like the recent WannaCry ransomware), but that is a people problem, not a technology problem.

13. How do you feel about the importance of college degrees, and certifications as it pertains to IT careers?

Do those credentials mean as much, or more, than they use to? Yes and no. There is still a need for advanced education. Formal college degrees and certifications show one’s desire and persistence to complete a goal (and hopefully learn in the process). However, there are plenty smart individuals out there that do not have formal education. As for IT, it is a mixed bag. Some people happened to fall in to IT as a career and probably should be in a completely different field (skatterbrainz knows what I am talking about – just read his tweets from his projects).

[edit: omg – I promise I did not bribe anyone for that mention]

14. You’ve crashed on a remote island along with 4 other engineers, and 5 sales people. There’s only enough food for five people total to last a week. What do you do?

The 5 sales people will end drowning since they believe they can walk on water. That will leave enough time for the engineers to come up with a plan and get off the island.

[edit: there is an alternate theory that the sales people will ultimately survive by way of verbally ‘synergistically envisioning’ the engineers to death]

15. If you could go back in time and change one piece of technology to end up better today, what would it be, and why?

Hmm…this is a tough one, but it would probably be with something that helps people or saves lives.

More about Mike

Mike’s twitter profile

Mike’s blog

Arizona Systems Management Users Group

 

Leave a Reply

