I apologize for my over-indulgence of blogging today.  Writing is therapy at times.  I’ve been studying for exams no less than six to eight hours a day for the past two weeks.  Petting my cat with a drumstick and mumbling “failure is not an option”.  At least I think it’s the cat.

IMG_4557

Anyhow, I’ve posted (and shared) projects of mine over the years with the intent of offering something useful.  What I failed to take into account was the context.  By that, I mean that those projects often (okay, just about always) offered value to one customer for their unique requirements.  Even as much as I focused on modularity, portability, and adaptability, (I ran out of bility’s) – I allowed myself to lose sight of that and see subjectivity as objectivity.

Anyhow, I’ve decided to pull the plug on those things.  It’s taken me a few job changes to see the objective angle again, and now that I see it, it reminds me of Buzz Aldrin’s comments of seeing the planet Earth from a distance, and how it gained him a new perspective.  I really can’t compare with that, but I understand his point.

So, while it was fun building web interfaces for Configuration Manager and Active Directory, and building all sorts of interesting and complex automation processes with various tools and code, those things need to remain where they were born.  I foolishly allowed myself to see way more value in those things than they really have in the bigger scope of world issues.

It’s kind of like growing a really nice potato garden and then thinking “I can feed an entire city with this!” When it’s really just a small backyard garden.

I’ll continue to post and share the small stuff.  The code snippets.  The stupid rants.  The crazy dumb ideas.  But the fully-cooked applications stuff will no longer be on the blogging menu, beyond the conceptual blabbering stuff.  I hope that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

